Page 1 of 2

Personal Injury Case Builder Form

When you begin our personal injury intake process, you should be ready to tell us about your incident. Whether it was a car accident, slip and fall or dog bite, we want to hear the all the details and specifics. Be descriptive but keep the information relevant. This will help us to better assess your claim.


Step 3 - 25 Types of Pain and Suffering Damages

The 25 different types of pain and suffering damages a person can claim in a in a personal injury case. It helps injury victims understand the full extent of their damages and the types of compensation available in a settlement. These claims are in addition to claims for economic damages, like lost earnings and medical expenses.

Physical Pain:
Physical pain is defined as damage to the body that creates mild to severe discomfort. If you suffered injuries during an accident or altercation, such as those to your back, leg, neck, or head that causes pain or distress, you can pursue damages for physical pain.
Mental Suffering:
Mental suffering, or mental anguish, includes feelings of distress, fright, anxiety, grief, depression, or mental trauma due to an accident or event. If an element of an incident leaves lasting emotional trauma, damages could be awarded for mental suffering.
Loss of Enjoyment of Life:
Loss of enjoyment of life references any damages from an event that severely alter a person’s life or ability to participate in activities or hobbies that they previously enjoyed. If you can no longer engage in activities you enjoyed prior to an injury, you can recover compensation for loss of enjoyment of life.
Physical Impairment:
If you sustained an injury that limits your ability to move, coordinate actions, or perform daily living activities, you can pursue damages for physical impairment.
If an accident causes permanent damage or changes to a person’s body, such as to their physical appearance, this would be classified under disfigurement. Damages such as permanent scarring are filed under this type of claim
Loss of Quality of Life:
Loss of quality of life is defined as a reduction in a person’s ability to enjoy or engage in life as they did prior to an event or accident. For example, if a person loses a limb, has paralysis, or incurs serious head trauma, they could cite loss of quality of life in a claim.
If an accident, incident, or injury causes sudden and extreme fear or terror that severely impacts your life, you may be able to receive compensation for fright.
Shock is defined as a psychological injury resulting from an accident or event. It can be triggered by witnessing an accident or from injuries a person sustains from an incident. As a result, shock is a type of non-economic damage in a claim.
A person can claim non-economic damages for anger. This type of loss can be claimed if an accident or interaction causes severe mental pain and suffering that results in persistent anger which was not present before an accident.
Indignity, when speaking of non-economic damages, is defined as insults or damage to a person’s dignity or self-respect following an accident or altercation. Indignity can take the form of disgrace, vulgarity, ill treatment, abusive language, or intentional disrespect.
Mortification refers to the feeling of shame, wounded pride, or extreme embarrassment that comes after an accident, incident, or even false imprisonment. If a person feels ashamed or extremely embarrassed after a life-changing event, they may be able to pursue damages under this category.
Free Case Evaluation

Fill out the form below for a free case evaluation or book an appointment here